Membership CPD
Search the register

New Chief Executive appointed

Following the announcement of the retirement of the current Chief Executive, Mr Trevor Patterson, The Pharmaceutical Society NI is delighted to announce the appointment of his replacement, Ms Michaela McAleer

Ms McAleer will take up her appointment on 5th December 2022

Jonathan Patton, Vice President of the Society said, “Losing the constant and continuity of our 15 year serving Chief Executive ushers in a time of change and evolution for us as the Pharmacy Regulator. We are in the midst of a fast moving and changing environment as we implement continuous improvement .

The experience Michaela brings with her from her extensive roles in Regulation provides the Society and the public with the assurance that the evolution will continue at pace and that we will strengthen the already strong relationships and professionalism we bring to the world of Pharmacy. Staff and Council are looking forward to working with her and progressing the exciting and important work of the Pharmaceutical Society.”

Michaela McAleer brings to the role  20 years public sector experience in the oversight of public bodies through independent investigation of complaints and the regulation of statutory codes of conduct. (Formerly, the Acting Deputy Commissioner for Local Government Standards at the Northern Ireland Public Services Ombudsman she has investigated alleged breaches of the Code of Conduct for Northern Ireland Councillors and led the first ‘Own Investigation’ undertaken by a UK Ombudsman under new statutory powers introduced in April 2018.) More recently she has extended her experience in regulation to include that of the UK press and serves as a non executive director for the Independent Press Standards Organisation.

Michaela McAleer said “I am delighted to be taking on the role of Chief Executive at this challenging time for pharmacists and the health system across the region. I am looking forward to working alongside the new President of the Council and its members continuing and building upon the work of the current Chief Executive, Trevor Patterson, regulating to ensure the delivery of safe and trusted care to the public by the pharmacy profession”.