Membership CPD Pre-reg Portfolio
Search the register

Council Members

Our Council

The Council consists of up to 14 members, there are positions for 7 registered pharmacists(registrant members) and 7 persons that are not, have never been and are not eligible to be pharmacists (lay members). Council members are appointed on a competency basis by the DoH for periods of between 2 and 4 years.

Our Current members are

Dr Jim Livingstone (LM) - President


Born in Belfast, Jim graduated with honours in psychology at Queens University Belfast in 1976 and was awarded a PhD in psychology in 1980.  He joined the NI Civil Service in October 1979 as an Assistant Statistician and in 1987 was promoted to Head of Statistics and Research in the Department of Education.  In 1991 he took up the post of Head of Information Services Unit and later held posts as Head of Finance and Head of the PFI Unit. 

In 2002 he transferred to the Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety and was appointed Director of Primary Care and developed the Department’s first Primary Care strategy. In June 2008 he was appointed Director of Safety Quality & Standards with lead policy responsibility for Patient Safety, NICE and Care Standards, Service Frameworks, HSC Complaints policy, PPI, and sponsorship of RQIA.  Before retiring from the NI Civil Service in October 2012 he developed the Department’s Quality 2020 Strategy launched in 2011.

Since November 2012 he has served as a Non-Executive Director on the NI Ambulance Service Trust Board.

He is an Associate Fellow of the British Psychological Society and has been active in the governance of the Society, and in 1997 was co-President of the European Congress of Psychology.  He is also a volunteer member of the St Vincent de Paul charity for which he is regional trainer.

He enjoys music, writing, walking in Donegal, and is married to Paula with three daughters, a son and two grandchildren.

Mr Ciaran Hunter (LM) - Vice President


Ciaran is a Chartered Accountant with over 25 years’ experience in professional practice and industry. Since 2009 he has been Chief Executive of Arran Capital a corporate finance boutique focused in active investment in high growth businesses. He is an active member of HALO the Business Angel Network and Chair of Arran Angels investment group.

Ciaran is active in a number of local charities including being honorary treasurer of the Linenhall Library and Dickens 2012, as well as chairing Inspire. In addition he has been an active supporter in the establishment of Parkrun Ireland.

In his spare time Ciaran enjoys running, hiking and is currently undertaking an M.Sc. in Investment Finance at Queens University Belfast.


Mr Mark Campbell (LM)


Mark is a qualified social worker registered with the Social Care Council (NI) with over 30yrs experience in residential and fieldwork. He established, led and managed the Psychiatry of Old Age Team in North Down and Ards 1994-1999 implementing Community Care reforms before appointment to Newry where he managed and further developed dementia services in Down and South Armagh. Mark worked in care regulation as an inspector with Eastern Health and Social Services Board and Regulation and Quality Improvement Authority from 2001-2012 during which time he was awarded an MBA in Health and Social Care Management. In 2012 he was appointed Head of Regulation and Inspection by the Isle of Man Government. In 2015 he was appointed to judicial office as an Experienced Member of the Mental Health Review Tribunal for NI.

Ms Sandra Cooke (RM)


Sandra graduated from Queen’s University of Belfast in 2006 and registered as a Pharmacist in 2007. Sandra started her career as a locum Pharmacist for numerous multiples and independent Pharmacies until she accepted a Pharmacy Manager Position in October 2007.

In 2008, Sandra registered with the PSI and started working for Brennan’s Pharmacy in the Republic of Ireland and as a part time hospital Pharmacist in the North West Independent Hospital in Ballykelly where she remained until she opened her own independent Pharmacy in August 2010.

In 2013 Sandra won Young Community Pharmacist of the Year at the Pharmacy in Focus Awards for dedicating an invaluable amount of time, effort and enthusiasm into improving healthcare and well being in her local community.

Currently Sandra sits as a Pharmacy contractor advisor on the National Appeal Panel and most recently she has become involved in training Pharmacists as a Pre registration Tutor and a QUB Community Pharmacy Placement Mentor.

Ms Colleen Duffy (RM)


Colleen qualified as a pharmacist from Queen’s University of Belfast in 2005 and went straight into a community pharmacy manager role. She has now been a Boots pharmacy store manager for the past 8 years. In 2011 she was a finalist for the pharmacy in focus ‘Young community pharmacist of the year.’ In 2014 she was awarded the NI healthcare award for ‘Managing substance misuse in the community,’ owing to her work with a local addiction charity, HURT and addiction services in the area.



Ms Laura Murphy (RM)


Laura graduated from Queen’s University Belfast in 2005 and qualified as a pharmacist in 2006.  Laura has worked as a locum community pharmacist for a number of Independent and large multiple stores. Laura worked as a Practice Pharmacist for two Belfast Surgeries from 2007 to 2010. In 2012 she won the Pharmacy and GP Partnership NI Healthcare award for promoting more successful relationships with the GP and Local pharmacies within the locality she worked and she sat on the Primary Care Partnership for North Down and Ards as the Pharmacist Lead from 2011 – 2013. Laura currently is as a Pharmacy Manager for Boots Pharmacy in Lisburn.

Prof Patrick Murphy (LM)


In a career spanning more than 40 years in education, Patrick has worked at every level of learning from nursery to university, in teaching, management or governance.  A specialist in public sector decision-making and policy formulation, he was Director of Belfast Institute of Further and Higher Education for seven years.   In recent times he has served on a number of public bodies across a wide range of areas, including education, health, heritage, agri-food, science and local government.  His major contribution in these areas has been in finance and audit.  He is currently a member of the Board of the Agri-food and Biosciences Institute and he chairs the NI Medical Research Ethics Committee (REC B).



Mr James Perry (LM)


James is a Chartered Accountant who has held senior management positions in Northern Ireland Electricity and the Northern Ireland Tourist Board. He is Chair of the Northern Ireland Social Care Council and has recently been appointed as Chair of Ulster Supported Employment Ltd.

James is involved in a small family business in Ahoghill and he is also vice Chair of Ballymena Business Centre.


Note (RM) Registrant Member  (LM) lay Member

For Register of Members interests please click here Register of Council Members’ Interests last updated 24/08/17.


Bookmark and Share