CPD Pre-reg Portfolio
Search the register

Council Members

Our Council

The Council consists of up to 14 members, there are positions for 7 registered pharmacists(registrant members) and 7 persons that are not, have never been and are not eligible to be pharmacists (lay members). Council members are appointed on a competency basis by the DHSSPS for periods of between 2 and 4 years.

Our Current members are

Dr Jim Livingstone (LM) - President

Born in Belfast, Jim graduated with honours in psychology at Queens University Belfast in 1976 and was awarded a PhD in psychology in 1980.  He joined the NI Civil Service in October 1979 as an Assistant Statistician and in 1987 was promoted to Head of Statistics and Research in the Department of Education.  In 1991 he took up the post of Head of Information Services Unit and later held posts as Head of Finance and Head of the PFI Unit. 

In 2002 he transferred to the Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety and was appointed Director of Primary Care and developed the Department’s first Primary Care strategy. In June 2008 he was appointed Director of Safety Quality & Standards with lead policy responsibility for Patient Safety, NICE and Care Standards, Service Frameworks, HSC Complaints policy, PPI, and sponsorship of RQIA.  Before retiring from the NI Civil Service in October 2012 he developed the Department’s Quality 2020 Strategy launched in 2011.

Since November 2012 he has served as a Non-Executive Director on the NI Ambulance Service Trust Board.

He is an Associate Fellow of the British Psychological Society and has been active in the governance of the Society, and in 1997 was co-President of the European Congress of Psychology.  He is also a volunteer member of the St Vincent de Paul charity for which he is regional trainer.

He enjoys music, writing, walking in Donegal, and is married to Paula with three daughters, a son and two grandchildren.


Vice President

This post is currently vacant.


Prof Martin Bradley OBE (LM)

Martin was Chief Nursing Officer (CNO), in the Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety (DHSSPS) from 2005 until his retirement in July 2011. Prior to taking up post as CNO he was Director of the Royal College of Nursing, Northern Ireland.  His background is in general and mental health nursing, nurse education, public health, and health care commissioning.

Currently he is Chair of the Down and Connor Committee of the Irish Bishop’s Initiative on Substance Misuse, a Trustee of the Florence Nightingale Foundation, a lay trustee of the UK Board of Healthcare Chaplains, and a member of the Defence Nursing Forum.

He is a past Chair and Trustee of the Northern Ireland Association for Mental Health and a former member of the BBC Broadcasting Council. In 2000 he was made a Fellow of the Royal College of Nursing for his services to Nurse Education and Higher Education and in 2011 a Fellow of the Queen’s Nursing Institute for his services to community nursing. He is visiting Professor of Nursing at the University of Ulster.


Ciaran Byrne (RM)



Mr Mark Campbell (LM)



Ms Sandra Cooke (RM)

Sandra graduated from Queen’s University of Belfast in 2006 and registered as a Pharmacist in 2007. Sandra started her career as a locum Pharmacist for numerous multiples and independent Pharmacies until she accepted a Pharmacy Manager Position in October 2007.

In 2008, Sandra registered with the PSI and started working for Brennan’s Pharmacy in the Republic of Ireland and as a part time hospital Pharmacist in the North West Independent Hospital in Ballykelly where she remained until she opened her own independent Pharmacy in August 2010.

In 2013 Sandra won Young Community Pharmacist of the Year at the Pharmacy in Focus Awards for dedicating an invaluable amount of time, effort and enthusiasm into improving healthcare and well being in her local community.

Currently Sandra sits as a Pharmacy contractor advisor on the National Appeal Panel and most recently she has become involved in training Pharmacists as a Pre registration Tutor and a QUB Community Pharmacy Placement Mentor.


Ms Colleen Duffy (RM)



Mr Ciaran Hunter (LM)

Ciaran is a Chartered Accountant with over 25 years’ experience in professional practice and industry. Since 2009 he has been Chief Executive of Arran Capital a corporate finance boutique focused in active investment in high growth businesses. He is an active member of HALO the Business Angel Network and Chair of Arran Angels investment group.

Ciaran is active in a number of local charities including being honorary treasurer of the Linenhall Library and Dickens 2012, as well as chairing Inspire. In addition he has been an active supporter in the establishment of Parkrun Ireland.

In his spare time Ciaran enjoys running, hiking and is currently undertaking an M.Sc. in Investment Finance at Queens University Belfast.


Ms Eleanor Magennis (RM)



Ms Laura Murphy (RM)



Prof Patrick Murphy (LM)



Mr Gareth Peeples (RM)

Gareth lives in Mallusk and is currently a dispensary pharmacist in the Belfast Health and Social Care Trust, in Belfast City Hospital. Gareth studied for his MPharm. at Queen’s University Belfast and graduated in 2011. He completed his Pre-Registration training in the Royal Victoria Hospital (6 months) and in a community pharmacy chain (6 months) and registered as a pharmacist in August 2012.

Gareth has worked several years within the Healthcare system and has good experience with complex healthcare practice issues within primary and secondary care. He also works as a locum pharmacist in a number of community pharmacies in the Belfast area and is an advocate for the advancement of services in community pharmacy.

Gareth works on an ad-hoc basis for Queen’s University Belfast as a demonstrator for the OSCE examinations and he writes exam questions for the pre-registration exam. He has a passion for pharmacists to work beyond the current restraints of the pharmacist lead dispensary and has participated in a number of projects with his fellow pharmacist colleagues including a month spent volunteering in South Africa with Khanya AIDS Hospice and speaking on this experience at the UKCPA conference on “Pharmacy beyond the dispensary.” He is currently completing the Foundation Programme for Pharmacist Practitioners at NICPLD and aspires to be an Independent Prescriber in the future.


Mr James Perry (LM)

James is a Chartered Accountant who has held senior management positions in Northern Ireland Electricity and the Northern Ireland Tourist Board. He is Chair of the Northern Ireland Social Care Council and has recently been appointed as Chair of Ulster Supported Employment Ltd.

James is involved in a small family business in Ahoghill and he is also vice Chair of Ballymena Business Centre.


Note the Minister of Health has appointed new members to the Council, their terms of office begin on 1 Oct 2016. Further details of these individuals will be posted in the near future.

Note (RM) Registrant Member  (LM) lay Member

For Register of Members interests please click here Register of Council Members Interests last updated 23/02/15.


Bookmark and Share